Organization Obsessed!

I’m organization obsessed.

Shopping for back to school supplies is something I look forward to, rather than dread. This highly anticipated time of the year (for me, anyway) means an excuse to splurge on cutely coordinated pens, notebooks, desktop decoration, & other exciting organizational materials. I don’t quite know what I’m going to do with myself when I graduate college, and back to school isn’t technically back to school anymore (probably still splurge each year – I can always be more organized, right?)

Every year, the single most important item of the back to school season is my planner. This will be my constant diary, my loyal companion, many times my only reason I remember due dates & meetings for the whole year…so it has to be cute. There’s something key about liking the look of this main organizational tool that’ll make me want to use it more, & thus be more on top of my life..Is anyone else the same way??

This year, I found the best one yet! If you’re an organizational nerd like me, or just hoping to get an organizational kick in the bum, I triple dog dare you to check out Day Designer. They operate by the philosophy that “a well-designed day is a well-lived life”. I adore this mentality, because I know it to be true. I find that if I plan out my day the night before (or the morning of, if I’m riding the struggle bus), my entire day goes so much better & I get so much more out of my life. Not only am I more productive because I know exactly what needs to get done, but I’m much more at ease because everything is laid out in front of me in a clear way. I’m less frantic & more grateful for the beautiful moments of life. In fact, the daily page in my planner includes a little area to write down what I’m grateful for that day – so yes, another reason to love Day Designer is this commitment & encouragement of practicing gratitude. Ugh, love.

I recognize that buying a planner at this point in the year may be silly & that these planners are a bit of an investment, but never fear! Their free organizational online printables are here! On the Day Designer website, you can find free-to-download, beautifully designed organizational sheets, which you may then print out & use even without buying a full planner. I have used their “Brain Dump” & “How to Design Your Week” printables too many times to count. I highly recommend!

braindump
Brain Dump! So useful for when I just have TOO MANY things swirling around in my head all at once…
howtodesignyourweek
How to Design Your Week! A lovely time table that helps me look at the week ahead. Also, peep the “Victories” section, such a cute idea!
dailyplanningpage
The Daily Planning Page! This is essentially what each page looks like inside the full sized planners. There’s so much space to detail what appointments/classes/meetings you have to attend & all the things you need to accomplish during the day.

If you give these a try, be sure to let me know what you think! How else do you stay organized & sane?

xoxo,
erin kelly


Leave a comment